Kemper vs Attenuated Real Amp

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by cdtabman1, Feb 11, 2012.

1. cdtabman1

cdtabman1 Member

I'm a bedroom guitarist but still obsessed with sounding as good as possible. I'm thinking of:

a/ getting a Vox AC30HW Head and Cab and a Rivera Rockcrusher attenuator. I'm sure that will sound awesome and give me to option of taking it to gigs in the future.
    b/ getting the Kemper and running it through studio monitors at home.

I'm guessing the Vox will sound better, but how much better? Any ideas?

Thanks

2. fakeox

fakeox Member

The Vox would be a kickass 1 trick pony, The Kemper has all linds of tricks. You might want to look around for some Vox profiles & decide from there..

3. cdtabman1

cdtabman1 Member

Thanks for the advice. Haven't heard many Vox profiles yet. I guess they'll start to come through as more people get the Kemper.

4. fakeox

fakeox Member

What is your fave Vox flavor, TB, pentode or normal?

5. cdtabman1

cdtabman1 Member

6. fakeox

fakeox Member

Maybe post a request for clips?

7. richpjr

richpjr Member

I used a Mesa Boogie Express 5:50 for a couple of years as my bedroom amp and it was far too loud for that. I put in one of those Eminence Maverick speakers that has an attenuator built right into the speaker and that was just what I needed to be able to push the amp so it sounded good at low volume.

8. stratzrus

stratzrus Philadelphia Jazz, Funk, and R&B Supporting Member

Between the two I'd go for the Kemper.

It will sound much better at lower volumes and has many more tones to offer.

9. GtrDr

GtrDr Member

People have a deep rooted fascination with blinking lights and knobs. Smart Phones, Blackberries, Smart Pads, X-Boxes etc. Music gear is no different. So, we'll spend thousands on gear that replicates, models or profiles other gear. We love gadgets. I have closets full of the blinking light stuff.