Kemper vs Positive Grid Bias Head!!!

ShaunOsovs

Haven't had a chance to watch it entirely yet, but judging from the YouTube comments it looks like Kemper stole the show. Not surprising, BIAS head is half the price.

mbenigni

I love Positive Grid, but they kind of screwed themselves out of a customer when they sold me their entire iOS line for like $40 or whatever I paid. :)

ShaunOsovs

I have BIAS FX Desktop and think its great for quickly trying out ideas....then I take those ideas and 'perfect' them on Kemper or Helix and use that in my recordings and live. I wasn't impressed with their iPad app too much, hated being nickel and dimed for every stomp/amp. I have no experience with BIAS head but wish them nothing but success in the long run. The more companies doing amp modeling and succeeding means lower costs and better products for all of us in the long run!

mbenigni

I wasn't impressed with their iPad app too much, hated being nickel and dimed for every stomp/amp.

The trick is to ignore the in-app purchases altogether. (I admit I spent a few bucks before taking my own advice LOL.) I think I paid $25 for Bias Amp which, with the right interface, delivers most if not all of what's on offer in their $1K preamp head. I got a similar deal on Bias FX, and their tape emulation (RE-201 clone?) alone is worth the cost of entry.

ColdFrixion

In terms of sound quality (not feel) the Kemper came across as a bit more organic and alive. One thing I like about the Kemper vs. BIAS Head is that it can store 1,000 presets, which is far more than BIAS Head. It also has an LCD screen and allows users to tweak everything in the box. The Kemper doesn't have an editor yet while BIAS Head does, which is definitely a plus for BH.

ShaunOsovs