Kettlebell Workouts

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Scott Peterson, Apr 13, 2015.

1. Scott Peterson

Scott Peterson Staff Member

I've been interested in getting into kettlebell workouts for some years but never made the leap.

Last week on a lark I bought a 35lb kettlebell at Dick's Sporting Goods and did the normal YouTube/Google binge to learn. There's a lot to learn and go through. My first few workouts were really fun, hard work to focus on the techniques and moves and I enjoyed - greatly - the challenge.

So I started training, working on form and technique in the midst of my normal workouts and after a bit of a layoff due to having been so sick the last two weeks (bronchitis). My plan is to work this into my normal fitness regime; I am very active, play competitive 'old man' soccer weekly, have a varied and long past of working out - weights, cardio, HIIT, bodyweight, TRX, P90X, yoga, etc., etc,. I enjoy what I do to stay in shape but as with all things I am always looking to add in more variety and challenges. I am a stickler for form and with big macro-movements and complexes for Kettlebells that is of course of primary concern.

So, I have a pebble of knowledge, the very beginning of any experience and wanted to short cut some learning/research on Kettlebells and workouts in general because there are some hardcore guys here with years of experience and in general, every time I post something like this I get some very good helpful information from knowledgeable people.

I am looking at getting a range of kettlebells as I progress and have found this site as a source for the actual Kettlebells (after a lot of Google searches and reading forums, etc): http://www.kettlebellkings.com/

I am most interested in the competitive range of kettlebells so they will last the longest and I can work with them for probably as long as I am physically able as I age (I'm 48 so I'm thinking... about another 100 years or so will do. ;) )