Kingwood vs. Brazilian Rosewood

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by pep, Aug 22, 2006.

1. pep

pep Member

I have no experience with Kingwood, although it looks very pretty and supposedly sounds quite similiar to Brazilian RW. Has anybody played a guitar with a Kingwood fretboard? How did it feel and sound to you? I really prefer the snap that a Brazilian board offers over Indian RW, but I think that Kingwood looks way cooler. Opinions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

2. matte

matte Senior Member

feels pretty similar to me. have had plenty of guitars with either one or the other.

3. pep

pep Member

Matte, did you think the sound was pretty similiar?

4. Giraffecaster

Giraffecaster Member

this should make you guys jealous. A couple years ago I came across some old growth brazilian. The source was supposed to be a furniture maker who closed his doors in the early 60's. At the same wood place they had kingwood. I gave Tommy at www.usacustomguitars.com a call and he told me the size blanks he needed and this is what came out of it. I hand picked the best sounding piece of kingwood and the brazilian was one of 3 pieces they had left.. (btw I picked up all 3.. one I gave to my father in law.. even tighter grain, it's darker, and it's rift sawn, not flat like this one so it's probably a bit stiffer. The other piece I have sitting away and one day I'll get around to using it.) This was about 2 years ago. I went back to that same wood shop the other day and the selection of kingwood was still ok for fretboards but no more brazilian.

So anyways, Tommy made this killer tele neck. No finish, not dyed, this is how dark the brazilian naturally is. I had it installed on a body for about 2 minutes... I made the nut but filed the low e a little too low and so I took it off and it's been sitting here ever since. The body I was going to put it on went to other use and that's a whole nother story.