KOB 6 knob versus latest model?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Cary Chilton, Jun 4, 2008.

1. Cary Chilton

Cary Chilton Senior Member

Anyone try both yet?

2. carbz

carbz Supporting Member

I've got the latest V. I did some research before I bought it and it seemed more favored the latest. I have that and a PTP Kar Krash and love both of them. I am fairly new to the Menatone stuff but they are clearly more amp sounding then pretty much all the drive pedals I have owned/tried. The Tim/Timmy's were pretty close though.

3. Yutaka

Yutaka Member

Same here - it seemed like the guys who tried the both versions liked the latest version better. I just bought it recently. I like the 3rd position on the voicing and the boost on mine, and I don't think I want to miss those features. I don't know the older versions, but the latest version I have really sounds great. I like it better with 9v adaptor (1spot - I know, it's not recommended) than with the battery that came with the unit. It sounded little too compressed with the battery.

4. carbz

carbz Supporting Member

Thats funny you like the 3rd position voicing as I find it way to bright and noisey unless you keep the gain/treble and presence real low. I like the 1st voicing which really doesn't sound much different then the 2nd. Just a tad more bottom. Its a fantastic drive pedal that can cover lots of ground gain wise. The boost is killer on it also. The only thing I don't like about the Menatone pedals is the hiss seems to be more then normal for drive pedals. Most of the other drive pedals I've tried are clearly quieter but maybe thats why the Mena's sound so good. BTW I use both mine with standard Boss 9v adapters and feel they work fine even though BM does not recommend.

5. Yutaka

Yutaka Member