Last Minute Emergency Rig Changes

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by cam.man67, Dec 8, 2016.

1. cam.man67

cam.man67 Member

ever had this happen? You're on your way to a gig, maybe that day or the day previous, and all of a sudden X breaks. You can't cancel because you don't want to lose the opportunity to play, so you improvise with something. Gig get played, you shake your head after it's over and vow "never again".

Thinking on the "Favorite rigs" thread got me considering this. From 2008 to 2015 I gigged weekly or biweekly nearly constantly. All in all my gear held up well, I never had any major issues except one show early on.

It was right after I graduated HS, so summer 2008. My first band was booked to play an outdoor show for 150~ people--huge for us at the time. Two days before we played my Blues Jr burned up its transformer. It went to the shop, but I was ampless. I had just bought a Boss ME-20 for delay and modulation use, realized it had stereo outs. I borrowed two crappy Marshall 10w SS practice amps and turned 'em up as loud as they'd go without speaker clipping. It worked, and we got through the gig just fine. But I can't imagine it sounded very good.;) let's hear your war stories!

2. sturge

sturge Member