Late intro from SF Bay Area

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by rosscoep, Jan 11, 2008.

1. rosscoep

rosscoep Member

Hey all, I've been here for a little bit now and have yet to introduced myself.
    I grew up in San Diego and have lived in the Bay area for since '91. I like all music: Abba to Zappa. I play guitar, bass, and a little keys and drums and know a little about Recording/engineering. Been doing it on a Mac for about 10 years. I've been playing guitar since about 1985, seriously since 94. I studied Jazz at Sonoma State University with Mel Graves. I'm not a good Jazz player but learned a bunch through the study. Also lessons from Randy Vincent. Grew up on rock. Love outside Jazz/avant garde/experimental. My two favorite players are Bill Frisell and Marc Ribot. Favorite singer/ songwriter/all-around genius=Tom Waits. Love Coltrane, Dolphy, Steve Lacey, Beefheart, Sonny Sharrock/ Derek Bailey, almost anything Bill Laswell touches. Have a pretty open mind about most music but really have a hard time diggin' some of the shiny new Country. First Concert was Rush in 1979. Been to many shows. Stopped playing for a few years after a breakup of a duet that left me angry, cold and isolated. I work in mental health. I spent many years imbibing psychotropic substances. Clean for awhile now. I'm gonna study electronics a bit this semester so I can make an amp without killing myself. I've been struck by lightning so I have a very healthy respect for the juice.

I think sometimes we have the tendency argue about intangible and esoteric stuff when it comes to gear/music but I love nice gear anyway. I'm afraid of Guitar Center and love craftsmanship. I think a great deal of tone comes from the fingers and the heart and practice. Nuff said.