Lava vs Mogami vs Gepco

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by poOk, Apr 3, 2015.

1. poOk

poOk Member

I apologize if this is overly technical. I'm very new to guitars...played keys for 25 years and only recently came to the dark side of the force. But, I do have some mediocre knowledge of how electrons flow over distances :banana.

I've pulled some data from the manufacture websites and came up with more confusion than answers. I was hoping to get a few voices on the side of experience and reason. I'm getting a pedal board (FINALLY!) and will need to build 10 cables. What's best?

Lava TightRope Kit (10-kit for $60)-
    Capacitance = 32pF/ft

Gepco XB20UB cable + Switchcraft 228 (pancakes) (10-kit for $75)-
    Capacitance = 22.3pF/ft

Mogami W2524 cable + Switchcraft 228 (10-kit for $75)-
    Capacitance = 39.7pF/ft

Thoughts? Suggestions?

2. kludge

kludge The droid you're looking for

Electric guitars with passive pickups are very fussy about cables. The small signal and high output impedance is vulnerable to a lot of things that may or may not be easily quantifiable with specs. I've played with expensive cables and cheap cables, and here are some things I've learned. YMMV.

1. Cable length matters a LOT. Long cables = more loss. Cable length is probably a bigger factor than cable quality.

2. If you want to minimize the impact of cables on your sound, use the shortest cable you can tolerate into a high quality buffer.

3. If your guitar has active electronics (EMGs or preamps), you will never hear any cable differences.

4. Making your own cables is not cost-effective unless you really enjoy soldering and are good at it.

5. Expensive cables fail at inopportune times, too. Bring spares.

6. The physical behavior of cables is more important than their sound in the day-to-day reality of playing. Cables should be flexible and have a covering that is pleasant to touch.