• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Learning the fretboard inside out

I know a lot of music theory (I've been playing the flute for 15 years or so and my main "thing" with the flute was jazz) but I have pretty much just taught myself the guitar. I tend just to play shapes rather than know what actual notes I'm playing. I feel that learning all the notes on the fretboard would help me a load because then I could apply what I already know to the guitar.

Has anyone got any good ways of learning the fretboard?

Austinrocks

write out the notes on a piece of paper, do this several times,

play all the A, A#, B ect on the fretboard as a regular exercise, all of them up to the 24th fret.

derekd

Silver Supporting Member
The way I learned and teach is to learn the notes on the 6th and 5th strings, and then by using octaves, see the rest of the notes. I also agree that Fretboard Warrior is a great tool to keep you sharp. Good luck

Austinrocks

lots of sources for the knowledge, books sites, ect. really gets down to needing to know the fretboard, back in the dark ages, there were no tabs, so the player had to know the notes and how to read music if they wanted to play something from a book, as long as you can use tab, your not going to have to learn the fretboard,