1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Lentz 2-P90 versus Gibson Johnny A.

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by 55custom, Nov 20, 2005.

1. 55custom

55custom Member

If any owners of the new Lentz 2-90 guitar also have a Johnny A hollow body, please report in with a clean-tone comparison of the two using Jazz chords and riffs.

I have both and am finding that the Lentz can do everything the Johnny A can do. Clean clear big bottom end with both, except the Lentz is clearer/slightly brighter. But I'm still testing through various old tube amps.

2. JeffD

JeffD Very slow but persistent Supporting Member

California Central Coast between LA and the Bay
    I've refrained from responding until now because I have no experience with any Lentz guitars. Only know what I've read about them here on the GP. (I'm sure they are stellar guitars). However, I've owned a number of 2-P90 guitars, (currently own one) and have a Johnny A. I agree that you could (very effectively) use a solid body P90 guitar for many different styles of music, including jazzy stuff (assuming the pickups aren't _too_ hot). It makes sense to me that the P90 guitar would be slightly brighter and clearer, since it is a single coil pickup. The main difference, I think, is that the JA gives you that hollow-guitar tone. I don't know how you can get that except with a hollow-body guitar. The humbuckers won't sound like the P90s, and a neck humbucker in a hollowbody is a great sound. I just don't think the P90 sold body can give you that. Of course, the Lentz no doubt covers ground that the JA does not. Can you keep them both? Seems like the best thing to do, assuming you want to do so.

3. Ian Anderson

Ian Anderson Supporting Member

I saw Johnny play a few weeks back and was quite impressed with him and his guitar! Great player and great tone.