• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Les Paul and SG: Studio, Special, Standard, Custom?

theroan

I'm new to Gibson's, which models are better. I'm interested in getting a Les Paul, maybe an Sg. But I don't know what standard, special, studio etc mean in terms of pricing and quality.

Little help?

Sorry, but help is difficult to come by when gibson abruptly, randomly, and illogically changes model names. F'rinstance, SG Special used to be a really cool, good-looking, well made SG with P-90 p.u.s. What they call an SG Special now is some budget gtr with an ugly, cheapo looking, non-shiny finish and humbuckers. I'd try the internet, if I was you.

GCDEF

Silver Supporting Member
Gibson.com and MusiciansFriend.com list all the details about the various models.

uOpt

The "special faded" SG is the half-painted variant. There is still a "SG special" (non-faded) will full paintjob. It is a humbucker special with a batman pickguard.

In general, the cheaper the model Gibson will dump the worst wood on you, in particular bodies made from many pieces. Faded specials can look like chessboards. However, although Gibson will tell you that SG Standards are all 1 or 2 piece bodies you have no trouble finding 5-piece body SG Standards, e.g. recently on MLP.