Les paul Standard or Custom

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ivan, Mar 2, 2006.

1. ivan

ivan Guest

Hello,

I am new here, I have introduced myself in the introductions thread.

I would like to buy a Gibson Les Paul.
    My problem is that I am not sure about buying the Standard (and which one, "Standard", "Standard Faded" "Limited Edition" or "Premium Plus") or a Custom.
    I have a posibility to buy a used Ebony Custom. I think is 2004 and it is in perfect state, but I do not like Ebony :-(

What do you think about? Are there so many differences between both models? Which one you prefer and why?

Thank you in advance for all your help, and I apologize for my english...
    BR // Ivan

2. WordMan

WordMan Member

Personally I prefer Standards - perhaps the main reasons are I have a lot of experience playing them and know I can get the tones I want out of them. They are also, in my experience, more likely to have a bigger neck - I associated Customs with the 1970's when they typically had much slimmer necks.

I also prefer to see wood grain on my electric guitars - Standards have that and Customs don't.

Bottom line: play a few and see which makes you want to keep playing. Both are wonderful options...

3. soldano16

soldano16 Member

I agree with the "I don't like ebony"

I find the ebony fretboard makes a big difference in the tone. If you want warm, woodsy tone stay away from ebony.

4. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

R7 is the best value and not much more than a Standard and less than a Custom. Personally, I'd pick a Standard over a Custom.

5. ivan

ivan Guest

Soldano16, about "ebony" I meant that I do not like "ebony look".
    Are you serious about the difference in tone??? I did no know that.

Thank you for yous answers
    Ivan

6. bailnout

bailnout Member