Let the Zach Myers modding begin! (I might be over my head)

teofilrocks

Silver Supporting Member

Today is the day. The other half of the parts I'm changing out are arriving today, so I'm starting on what I can. This is a stock PRS SE Zach Myers. I'm replacing the bridge with a MannMade 2300 brass intonatable one. Replacing the tuners with ones modded by MannMade with Phase II gears. Replacing the electronics with USA pots (which requires enlarging the holes a bit) and knobs and adding push-pull for coil splitting. And, finally, replacing the stock pickups with Suhr Thornbuckers.

Thing is, I've never done any of this before. That makes me a little nervous, but not enough to keep myself from jumping in. I've watched some videos, taking reference photos, and going for it. There's a slight high spot on the 13th fret, but I'll leave that to the professionals. Otherwise, what's the worst that can happen?

Any tips or gotcha's to look out for?

skunizzi

I don't know why you are replacing the bridge? The Zack Meyers bride is fine and can be intimated with the ajustable saddles. To be able to do the coil splitting you need 4 wire pickups. When enlarging the holes, use masking tape over the finish to reduce the chance of the paint chipping. Finally make sure the brass nut is properly cut for the sting slots or you may end up with buzzing strings.

The 13th fret can be levelled out quite easily if you have the right tools.

teofilrocks

Silver Supporting Member
I don't know why you are replacing the bridge? The Zack Meyers bride is fine and can be intimated with the ajustable saddles. To be able to do the coil splitting you need 4 wire pickups. When enlarging the holes, use masking tape over the finish to reduce the chance of the paint chipping. Finally make sure the brass nut is properly cut for the sting slots or you may end up with buzzing strings.

The 13th fret can be levelled out quite easily if you have the right tools.