• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Let's "open a can of worms" and start adding some pedals to my rig! Help wanted!

Which fuzz/distortion/overdrive to go with my Thunderverb 50 + PPC212 Closed-back rig?

• Fulltone OCD

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Way Huge Swollen Pickle Jumbo Fuzz

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

dflipp

Hi guys!

So I'm ready to start "pedal'ing" on my Thunderverb 50 + PPC212 Closed-back setup! I'm new to all the "Effects Universe" and don't know where to start...

I'm ok with the clean and dirty sounds I can get out of the "just amp/cab setup" but, I have a couple extra money and would like to add some texture and power, something different to my sound. I would like to have a boosted lead and/or a slightly heavier distortion, heavier/doom-ier/sludg-ier... More "metal", but not "tight modern metal"...

Do I need a pedal? Probably not. (?) I'm not sure. I need to be schooled on this... LOL Should I run a pedal through a clean channel? One clean (A), and the other one clean (B) using the fuzz/distortion/overdrive, for dirty? Is there a primer/tutorial about this I can read, about this? I'm clueless...

So what do you think will get me started in the "effects scene"? I'm thinking something fuzz/overdrive/distortion... I will get into the modulation and time-based stuff later.

So, which pedals will be a nice addition to my setup? Which pedals works "awesomely great" with the TV50?

I play some kind of stoner/doom/sludge metal. Very Sabbath-y and Motorhead-y, but heavier. I tune in Standard C. And I use HH Fenders, loaded with DiMarzio Super Distortion/PAF and active 60/81 EMGs ...

Yes, a "can of worms" I know... And, right now, I really can't afford it. For the next couple of months, I'm thinking of a tuner (Boss TU-2/3 or a PolyTune 2), that distortion/booster/overdrive/fuzz, and a Wah, probably the Dunlop 535Q...