Leveling - techniques for protecting some regions while focusing on others?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by UsableThought, Jan 7, 2018.

1. UsableThought

UsableThought Supporting Member

Here's my question: What techniques do folks here use for fret leveling a guitar that's already been leveled at least once, and you want to protect and/or avoid areas that don't need material removed, or when you will be making more than one pass to handle different regions separately?

Reason I ask is, I'm about to do a second level and crown on an Epiphone Dot, based on a lot more experience than the first time I did it a year or two ago. Since I'm an amateur, I take care and go slow & use proper tools. Members whose comments on leveling I've read and found helpful include Walter W., David Collins, and John Coloccia, among others.

This isn't going to be a spot leveling of a few high frets here and there, but rather, a general refinement. I plan on removing almost no material from most of the frets in first position; a small amount (under 0.003") from the 1st fret and also from a small "hill" of frets in the middle of the board; and very little from the tongue, with nothing at all from the last 3 or 4 frets. Why these imperfections exist is that first time around, I did the job without a neck jig - only to discover that the neck buckles slightly under string tension. Not a big deal; but now I have a neck jig, and although jigs are necessarily imperfect, it will give me a leg up in smoothing out the buckle. (As an aside, I totally agree with what David Collins has said elsewhere about the surprising non-rigidity of jigs - they can't be trusted blindly, you must watch for neck & beam deflection & compensate as best you can.)