Lexicon PCM80 & PCM81 Questions, Tips, Tricks & Solutions

Discussion in 'The Rack Space' started by AnalogKid85, Mar 6, 2016.

1. AnalogKid85

AnalogKid85 Member

[​IMG]

This is long overdue--if any FX processor needs a thread like this, it's this one! :)

The DD500 and Nemesis threads really brought together a LOT of great info together, and I'm hoping to do the same with this thread. These units need it even more, because this is one where you have to know the "tips and tricks" just to get some of these effects to work in the first place!

I've been programming a PCM80 and a Pitch Card for about two years now, and it's easily been the most rewarding experience I've had in the last 8 or 9 years that I've been into effects. It's really changed the way I've thought about a lot of things, and helped me save a LOT of money too (since I haven't had to go out and just buy everything I wanted--oftentimes, I found out that I could just program it here!).

First off, a basic rundown of what these are, for those who aren't familiar with them...

These are not 100% dedicated reverb units (though they are often confused with the Lexicon PCM90 and PCM91, which came out around the same time, and are dedicated reverbs)...nor are they your "typical" multi-FX units, ones that might sacrifice processing power to run FX and reverb under one roof...what these are--and what makes them so special--are dedicated reverb AND dedicated FX under one roof, using dedicated chips for both! Nothing is compromised, ever--if you see a Chamber verb in one algorithm that you like, then it's going to be the exact same Chamber in every algorithm where a Chamber appears (i.e. you'll never get a more "limited" version of Chamber in different algorithms--the parameters, power, and sound quality are always the same). Likewise, the FX never share resources with the reverbs either, so your power is always optimized there as well.