Lightweight bass amp that can hang with a band...

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by Guitarshreda, Dec 9, 2017.

1. Guitarshreda

Guitarshreda Member

So, I'm looking for a good lightweight combo bass amp that can hang with a band. I'm a guitarist so my bass amp knowledge isn't extensive. The lighter the better, and I know that'll be tricky with a combo but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Obviously as the title of the thread says, it needs to have the power to hang with a band.

Thanks!

2. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

what kind of band?

my go-to recommendation is the new fender rumble 500 combo; it's a surprisingly light 2x10 box with the 500w rumble head mounted in it, plenty for moderate volume bands.

for louder situations just get the matching 2x10 extension cab and you have a kick-butt bass stack.

royd, Lothar34, frdagaa and 5 others like this.
  3. Guitarshreda

Guitarshreda Member

Basic rock and roll band, nothing crazy. Maybe "roots rock" is the best description.

4. walterw

OK yeah, look hard at the rumble 500 combo.

Thor and 9fingers like this.
  5. Guitarshreda

Guitarshreda Member

Just did. Looks perfect! Thanks man.

6. walterw

the key detail i like about it is that it's scalable. will run an extension cab, at which point it becomes a real 500w "rock" rig suitable for louder gigs.

to me bass combos that won't are just "practice amps" that get left behind when the drummer joins the band.

7. Guitarshreda

Guitarshreda Member

@walterw - what's your opinion on the 100 watter? Not enough for a band? It's going to be used in a situation where the FOH will take the line out...

8. olejason

olejason Member

100w is usually not enough if your drummer hits hard at all. It's nice to move a little air on stage for monitoring purposes.

9. somedude

somedude Member