Lighweight speakers

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Bad Back, Mar 17, 2006.

1. Bad Back

Bad Back Member

Hey men,

Are any of you currently using a lightweight (neo?) speaker or speakers?

I’ve got this old 1x12 100 w combo (Soldano designed Yamaha) that I sometimes take to outdoor gigs. This is a very heavy rig and I’d like to try one of the lightweight speakers. Any suggestions?

TIA

2. Frosty

Frosty Member

I am using a jensen neo 12" spkr. Rated at 100 watts. can handle up to 200 watts. Extremely light, great tone. I love it.

3. billywade

billywade Member

I have no experience with the light stuff but I'm interested as well. I hope you don't mind me jumping in on your thread but how about the Celestion Century or whatever it's called?

4. aeolian

aeolian Member

I'd love to hear the Jensen sometime. A light cabinet would be great. I have played though the Celestion and found it somewhat harsh. Even compared to my Tonker. I think it was harsher than my memory of D120s. I seen it said here that the Jensen is much less harsh.

5. Frosty

Frosty Member

I don't find the Jensen to be overly harsh. Perhaps a wee bit on the bright side but that is why we have tone control knobs. Overall, it is very balanced.

6. Sammy

Sammy Member

You are right the Celestion is very harsh. I bought a Reverend Kingsnake and found the Jenson Neodyne also a bit harsh sounding but nowhere near as bad as the celestion. I changed it for a Red White & Blue, much better, but obviously added more weight!

7. bluesdoc

bluesdoc Gold Supporting Member Gold Supporting Member

Everything I own (except a stock THD 2 12) has a Jensen Neo or Celestion Century Vintage speaker. They work for my ears and my back.

jon

8. scottl

scottl Member