Line 6 DL-4 or Boss DD-20?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by ecbluesman54, Feb 4, 2008.

1. ecbluesman54

ecbluesman54 Member

What do you all prefer between these two delay pedals, and why? I am looking to put one of them on a pedalboard I am working on. I have some experience with the DL-4, and Line 6 stuff in general. I am just looking for some thought to push me in the right direction, or for anything I haven't thought of.
    Thanks for the help!

2. macgill

macgill Member

I've owned both and I prefer the DD-20. It doesn't have the volume drop the Line 6 does (I've heard you can cure this with a mod though) and you don't have to carry a cheat sheet around to remember what "tweak" and "tweez" do for each delay model. I always found that really annoying about the Line 6.

The controls on the DD-20 are self-explanatory and the LCD lets you dial in precise settings if you need to, which I love. But if you prefer to just tap a tempo in it has that as well, and it's really not that annoying to hold the right switch down for a couple seconds to access that feature. The DD-20 also has one more available preset, plus the manual setting, so there are effectively 5 different delays available at the click of a footswitch as opposed to 3 with the Line 6. Plus I just think it sounds better.

The DD-20 isn't true bypass like the Line 6, so some folks would prefer the Line 6 for that reason alone. Again, I like that the DD-20 isn't true bypass. I put it at the end of my signal chain and because it's a buffered pedal it sends a bit stronger signal to my amp. It's maybe not the best buffer in the world but it does the job.

Hope that helps. It's really a matter of preference, but that's why I prefer the DD-20. They're both great multi-purpose delays.

3. ecbluesman54

ecbluesman54 Member

Thanks for the detailed response macgill. I really appreciate it.