Line6 DL-4 in Effects Loop Causing Distortion...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by rt2726, Feb 27, 2008.

1. rt2726

rt2726 Member

I admit that I'm no expert on this stuff but I thought that putting the delay pedal in my FX loop would be help preserve tone not suck the life out of it. I'm really bummed. When I turn the pedal off I get great clean tones out of my amp (Genz Benz Black Pearl 30) but as soon as I click the delay on bye bye clean tones.... I really don't think it's the fx loop in the amp that's flawed because when I click the pedal off (still connected) everything sounds fine. The DL4 actually sounds better through the front of the amp. I'm totally confused. I have the volume low and no dirt pedals on. I've played with different settings and tried different cables and it all sounds bad.

I think I'm going to take the DL-4 back and try something else. This is the nicest amp I've ever had and I'd rather have no pedals than this..... Right now I'm running a tuner and a M.I. Tube Zone in front of the amp but that's about it. I ordered an Analogman Chorus pedal but I haven't got it yet. My initial plan was to run the Tube Zone and eventually another 'drive' pedal probably a Barber small fry in front and Chorus and Delay in the loop. Maybe I'm all wet.. :confused:

Thanks,
    Rich

2. GtrWiz

GtrWiz Member

Line 6 pedals aren't designed to work in FX Loops. Try a TimeFactor.

3. Andre357

Andre357 Member

I used a Dl4 through the effects loop of a Budda superdrive ( and before that a mesa lone star )........with stellar results. No distortion whether the effects were on or off.....It sounded better in the loop than before the amp actually....

Something doesnt sound right... does your amp have send and return level controls on the loop ( my budda didnt and it still sounded great ) ?

I disagree with the poster that states they're not designed to be used in loops. Many/most users have them in their amp loops.