Lo-Fi production aesthetic?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Crowder, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Crowder

Crowder Dang Twangler Silver Supporting Member

Discuss.

It seems like a lot of indie projects are going for that lo-fi sound. This trend coincides with the DIY trend. It makes me wonder how much this "preference" comes down to the tail wagging the dog. When I'm recrording at home, I use a good interface and mics, and I can get nice core tones. Where I can't compete with a commercial recording is in the extended highs and lows. In other words, I can easily replicate a lo-fi sound but it's much harder and more expensive to achieve extended fidelity.

Is there a watershed artist or album that ushered in the lo-fi aesthetic?

2. voodoochili12

voodoochili12 Supporting Member

I'm not an audio engineer, so I will qualify my opinions as such. But, I would say that 95% of the 'lo-fi' sound is uneqvuivocally achieved using lo-fi technology. Take Karen O's new album, for example. I think it's called 'Crush Songs' - I surmise that the album was recorded with a tape recorder.

That said, I kind of feel that some groups are labeled as 'lo-fi' simply because they are not 'hi-fi'. For example, the Flaming Lips have an amazing production aesthetic, which to a degree sounds lo-fi. But I would bet that they're using some very high end equipment.

Another group that comes to mind is Perfect P*ssy. Lo-fi to my ears, but probably more due to the mixing and aesthetic than the signal paths.

There's a Boston based group that was called Nate Wilson Group, now called Ghosts of Jupiter. They recorded their freshman album 'Unbound' (under Nate Wilson Group on Spotify) with a guy I know, and it was all through Digital Performer and some very nice equipment. It sounds analog though.

3. Tritone

Tritone Member

4. loudboy

loudboy Member

I'm really disliking the trend I'm hearing towards "clattery" sounding drums.

5. cjcayea