1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for a cheap amp.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Saephanh, Dec 17, 2009.

1. Saephanh

Saephanh Member

Used will most likely be the best deal. Someone just bestowed upon me a a Schecter Hellraiser C-1 (Hell yea), but its the old one with the 81-85's.(T-T i wanted the coil tap)

and this cruddy little Vox Da5 isn't cutting it anymore... Let's say i sell it for 80 and a bass amp i got for 100. and i have a 250 dollar budget. whats a good amp/dist pedal combo? that i can get really cheap.

im still a beginner, but that boxy sound is REALLY getting to me...

2. yellowecho

yellowecho Member

what kind of music do you want to play? if you dont know, what bands do you like?
    IMO, $250 still isn't going to stretch too far... but i have a few thoughts.

3. Saephanh

Saephanh Member

well.. im still a beginner and i want to start getting serious about this. I'm training like rocky right now:boxer. though punching people hasnt really helped my playing LoL.

Mainstream rock, and if i get better i wanna get into classic rock/metal. Probably prog also. I think i HAVE to play metal with this hellraiser lol. i might grab a cheap strat to jam with too. Again im uber newb. but that doesnt meant i should get the best amp i can for 250

thx

4. dunara

dunara Member

Check out Bugera, Line 6 and Peavey Valve King.

5. sodapopinski

sodapopinski Member

For $250 definitely buy the Vox AC4TV... awesome 4 watt tube amp with sweet tone. Not a lot of headroom, but it wont matter if you mic it to the PA. It takes pedals like a pro and it doesnt sound too boxy, its the perfect beginner tube amp and it looks sweet, if you look for it make sure you get the one with the 10" speaker and not the 8...

6. Mike9

Mike9 Supporting Member

Used Fender Super Champ XD

7. wildschwein

wildschwein Member