Looking for a good compressor

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by moodog, Dec 6, 2005.

1. moodog

moodog Member

I have some experience with the Dan Armstrong Orange Squeezer. I really like the fast attack/release on it. Is there any real advantage to have a longer release (like a Dynacomp)?
    The reason I ask is when I look at the guitar as an instrument and I look at a preferred setting on a studio compressor I see an instrument that needs a faster attack and a faster release to level out its volume. Of course you have to set the threshold accordingly.
    So if I were to get a Ross or Dynacomp what would be the big advantages over an Orange Squeezer?

2. drolling

drolling Member

On another thread we were just discussing how the 'attack' knob on most compressors just f**ks up your sound if it's not set just right. That's why I haven't moved the one on my Boss CS-2 since I dialed it in decades ago. Same for the 'sensitivity' knob on my old DynaComp.

The best I've used yet is the Diamond. With controls for comp, EQ and volume, it's not a knob twiddler's dream, just a dam good sounding compressor.

3. wgs1230

wgs1230 Fully Intonatable Silver Supporting Member

Couple of thoughts: first, we don't necessarily use the pedals for the same purposes as line-level units. The desirability of "breathing" compression from a pedal is partly driven by nostalgia for the sound of old Beatles/Byrds/etc. albums (or 70s rock & country records featuring guitar parts cut with DynaComps), rather than by a search for relatively transparent peak limiting to seat the signal in a mix.