Looking for a good Mac friendly recording program .

Geetarpicker

I run Pro Tools 12 on a 2012 Mac Mini running Sierra. But Pro Tools is expensive and it can be finicky on some systems. I run Reaper when I just need a basic system that's runs on most anything with foolproof reliability. I keep Reaper on my MacBook Air for remote work as it only has 4gb of ram and struggles with the latest Pro Tools.

griggsterr

Gold Supporting Member
I have Logic pro x, and Studio one ( the high end version, can't remember the name). I find myself using Logic the most. It is an Apple product and it is not expensive. And you can use 3rd party plug ins.

The Other JC

I use Studio One 3 Professional on my Macbook Pro running OS X El Capitan. I was a Pro Tools user, but I switched to Studio One because PT10 wasn't compatible with OS X and I was tired of having to upgrade PT so often. I love Studio One. It runs great on my Mac.

Part of the reason that I decided to switch to Studio One instead of Logic was, if I decide later to switch to a Windows machine (because who knows what options will be available in 5-10 years?), I can continue to use Studio One on a Windows machine but would have to learn a new DAW if I chose Logic for now.

trisonic

I did a film soundtrack just using Garageband (for students at Tisch). Otherwise I use Logic.

Best, Pete.

micycle

Another vote for Logic... it's absolutely insane what you get for the price with all of the built-in instruments and effects. Although I use other plugins because I've gotten used to them over the years in my pre-Logic days I could easily pull off what I need to using nothing but Logic.