1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for guitar tech in SoCal

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by retro, Nov 5, 2005.

1. retro

retro Member

Hi,

I'm new to SoCal (Malibu) and looking for a good guitar tech to work on my guitars. Mostly set up on some strats and one refret.
    Where would you bring your strat or electric guitar to have work done?

Appreciate any leads...thanks,

retro

2. AndyZ

AndyZ Member

For the last 10 years I've been using Tina Wood out at the Amp Shop in Sherman Oaks. She's at 818-817-9566. She's done 2-3 refrets for me and all were great!

Lately when she's too backed up I'll use Brett or Norik at Norik Renson Guitar Repair in North Hollywood on Moorpark and Colfax. They both worked at the infamous Valley Arts Guitars back in it's heyday. Don't have the number handy, but they should be listed. If not email me and I'll get it to you.

I also know a few guys like Greg V here, that use Toru(?) over at I believe Wilkins Guitar Finishing in Van Nuys. They swear by him.

If your in a jam, the guys over in Thousand Oaks at Insturmental Music aren't bad for simplier stuff. They are an authorized Fender repair shop. That's not to far from you considering your in Malibu. I'm not far from you either and I've gone over there in a pinch.

3. retro

retro Member

Cool thanks a lot....

....I will check them out.

Appreciate it...

retro

4. gomez1856

gomez1856 Member

+1 for Tina. She has done great work on a couple of my guitars (on Andy's recommendation :D ).

Other than her, I'd highly recomend Rodney at Fret Tek. He's in Westwood. He's done 4 of my guitars, 2 of which I got Plek'd. He did great work on all of them.

Fret Tek

Rick

5. retro

retro Member

Awesome,

Thanks much Gomez and AndyZ! Part of feeling at home is knowing where a good guitar tech is ;).

retro

6. Scumback Speakers