Looking for mid-level overdrive pedal

Benjam226

I'm new to the message board, so forgive me while I get my bearings, but I wanted to get some advice from the other "gearheads" out there.

I currently have 3 drive pedals on my board (not counting my Line6 M13, which I use for mods and delays mostly, the drive models aren't much to listen to.)

I have Barber LTD that accomplishes my low gain needs, when I need my clean signal dirtied just a tiny bit, very transparent pedal, love it.

My Tonebone Hot British Distortion has the balls, it's my High-Gain Marshall/Plexi pedal.

I even have a Hartman LM308 Op-Amp Distortion (boutique Rat clone) that can get pretty harsh and dirty, but not in the warm, tube-like way the Hot British does.

I have long been looking for something that can fill the gap. Something in the middle of the road that can give me more gain than the Barber LTD, but not to cold and harsh like the LM308/Rat or over the top like the HB. This pedal would be something that I would plan on using for the majority of the music I play (alternative or pop/rock mostly, acoustic rock stlye also, such as Matchbox Twenty, Goo Goo Dolls, Vertical Horizon, etc).

I've been thinking about checking out a Fulltone FullDrive 2. I've heard nothing but good things, and apparently a lot of big names use it. But I wanted to get some feedback first.

Let me know your thoughts

Thanks!

wildshoetwt

all i know is my barber burn unit eq is the best pedal i own, it does everything from low gain blackface tones to all out marshall rock

Heady Jam Fan

Never owned a barber OD, but always liked them (had the tone press). Great company. I like to think that you can sometimes get away with a medium gain into a low gain to get high gain. Sometimes keeps the rig smaller, if that helps.

cnicholson06