Looking for spontaneous sounding blues/rock licks to practice

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by lgehrig4, Aug 27, 2005.

1. lgehrig4

lgehrig4 Silver Supporting Member

I am a guitarist in training and I am looking for something in the blues, blues/rock vein that I can play when people ask me to play something. You know those laid back off the cuff sounding riffs that guys (like Hendrix, Clapton and many others) play right before they go into an actual song or after someone tunes a guitar? The only licks I know don't sound right for this purpose. They seem to only fit in a song.

For an example of what I am refering to, go to this Fuchs link and check out the 1st Lucky 7 clip. After the clean part, Eddie Berman demonstrates the distortion with a cool sounding blues/jazz sounding number. I want to be able to play something like this, but I don't know how to make it up or figure it out by ear yet.

http://www.fuchsaudiotechnology.com/html/sound_files.html

thanks
    jeff

2. Antero

Antero Member

*cracks up*

On a serious note, why note just improvise your way through a 12 bar, hitting the chord tones in the right places so as to emphasize the progression?

3. lgehrig4

I guess "spontaneous" isn't a good way to describe something practiced in advance. If I could do what you suggest I wouldn't have started this thread. I am getting tired of mindlessly wanking or learning a piece of a song that is not fun to play unless you are doing it to music.

I understand that I can learn this, but I need a quick fix b/c I am losing my motivation to play. It gets boring in the basement playing to a washer & dryer. Whenever someone asks me to play something I have to resort to Stairway or some common blues lick that is too quick(unless I repeat it)

Bottom line, can anyone help me learn what the guy in the video is playing?

4. jcshirke

jcshirke Silver Supporting Member

Hey,