Looking to record.. Windows vista????

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by 69strat, Feb 15, 2009.

1. 69strat

69strat Member

Guys, I'm new to computer recording.. I would like to get some software and some mics ect.... Does anyone sell a package thats cheap so I can start before I spend a bundle on something I dont use.... I'm using vista.. I have cakewalk on a old computer and I sometimes go direct.. I would like to record my amp ect... What can you sugest???

2. gainiac

gainiac Senior Member

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?navid=28&langid=100&

3. Totally Bored

Totally Bored Member

Depends on how old your computer is I quess ?

For starters, get a SM57 Mic. If your gonna have only 1 mic then thats the one to have. Does Vocals ,Drums and guitars very nice. They are a must have for everyone.

Your gonna need something to interface your PC to record with. There are hundreds of options and many of them come with basic multi-track recording software. It all depends on how much $ you want to spend

Here's an example: Comes with software and is only $200

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Lexicon-Omega-Desktop-Recording-Studio?sku=245505

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 15, 2009
  4. 69strat

69strat Member

I am looking at entry level... 2 to 3 hundred dollars.. For the software.. Can you suggest anything with pre recorded drum tracks??? In cakewalk they provided different types of drum tracks.. Pre recorded... I dont want to spend a lot of time on the rhythm section.. Just trying to get some ideas down....

5. gainiac

gainiac Senior Member

For getting ideas down why not just use a field recorder? Certainly easier.....(For me it is...)

6. 69strat

69strat Member

any other suggestion?????

7. Dale

Dale Member

Cakewalk Home Studio, SM 57 and some sort of sound card (firepod maybe).

Or Reaper for the software and the other equipment.

8. altruistic8

altruistic8 Member

honestly get rid of vista its terrible for recording