Lost

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by ChmpgnSupernover, Jul 23, 2008.

1. ChmpgnSupernover

ChmpgnSupernover Member

I need some help here. I've been playing guitar for a couple years now and I'm really really disappointed in my abilities.

I play daily but my routine basically consists of doing half-assed improv or playing a medley of songs I've only half learned. I'll get interested in a song and start learning it from tabs/ear but half way though I'll either lose focus, get stuck on a solo, and eventually I'll move onto another song. Right now I know probably two or three dozen songs but can only finish maybe one of them.

When I try to improv and jam with myself I get frustrated because I never know what chords to play or in what sequence/rythem/ect. I'm obviously not naturally gifted with music and I'm OK with that but I do want to improve, I just don't know where to start.

Should I start working on scales? All I know right now is the basic blues pattern.
    Or should I open up a book on music theory? I used to have a theory book but when it started to get just a little bit hard I put it down and walked away.
    Or should I learn how to play in certain keys so that I can at least Jam and imrov/ect? I figure if I learn how to "play in the key of A(as an example)" I wont have such a hard time guessing at chords, ect.

I guess I am just looking for some direction and a little motivation. I know I can do this, I am a good learner, I just don't know where to start at this point. Can anyone help?

2. dewey decibel

dewey decibel Supporting Member

we eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer
    Sounds like you need a teacher.