Louis Electric: New Master Volume circuit!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by sonvolt, Feb 17, 2008.

1. sonvolt

sonvolt Member

Hey All,

Lou has a new master volume circuit/mod. I have a KR-12 and the new master opens the amp up. It sounds bigger and more clear at higher volumes. Also, it makes the pedal/boost amazing. The volume is more balanced, so you can set a chunky rhythm sound and kick the pedal on for leads. Just got done crankin' it at band practice.

He's charging $150.00 for the mod.

:BEER

2. 57special

57special Member

I thought the old MV was pretty good. Great to see he's not resting on his laurels.

3. davebc

davebc Member

Hey, I loved the original master circuit; but Lou is never satisfied.
    He used the redesigned master in my new KR10-12. It is the best I've ever used, so versatile. It opened up a whole new array of useable tones everywhere on the dial and throughout each channel.
    It's standard on all the new amps that use the 4 way gain structure; or like you said he'll do the mod. I always hated masters, until my KR12.

I wouldn't get the wrong impression though. This simply ain't gonna turn your 45watt amp into a bedroom amp, no way.

I did have a sonic orgasm the other night with it(don't tell my wife).
    Using one of my Strats in the higest gain input with the guitar midway, the tone was pristine clean and singing with Lou's trademark rich mids.
    With each subtle turn of the guitar volume the amp became more and more ferocious, always rich and very nasty, until finally dimed!
    Ah,,, life's simple pleasures, harmonics feeding back everwhere!

4. lgehrig4

lgehrig4 Silver Supporting Member

Just had this done to mine and believe me it is worth it.

5. Jay Strange

Jay Strange Member