low power amp for basement

chicagoguitar

I am new to electric. Guitar is a tele. Maybe interested in a 335. I need a small amp for play in the basement that will not disturb the wife or sleeping kid upstairs. I want something clean - interesting in playing rockabilly & jazz etc. Any amp suggestions? Can you get a good tone in the low power amps say 15W & lower?

elicxirmixer

15W is plenty loud for basement play solid state or tube. But it would be difficult to keep up with a drummer.
Since you are new to electric, I would keep the budget low for now until you find what you really like.
My recommendations (although the list could be limitless)
Solid State - Vox Pathfinder
Tube - Fender Champ

And get it used on Craigslist.

NewDr.P

fender blues jr and $5k worth of pedals to make it sound like a $1000 marshall.

but seriously what budget are you working with?

chicagoguitar

under $500 would be great. I guess I am looking for the best sound at low power < 15W (probably lower since it for a basement and I do not want to disturb a sleeping kid upstairs). If it is less than that fine. Can you get great a tone at low volumes? Nice jazz & rockabilly sounds. I do not want to get the cheapest amp if it doesn't sound good. thanks for any advice!

NewDr.P

id recommend one of those little yamaha thr amps. theyre modeling but itll give you time to figure out what kind of tube amp would suit your style or if its even necessary.

i think those little amps are amazing at what theyre intended to do, which seems to be what youre looking for.

zenas

Make sure you can even play unplugged when they're sleeping. In my 64 year old house with wooden floors I can't.

Otherwise when I do play when the fams home I just plug into an amp maybe a Twin Reverb maybe a Princeton Reverb and turn it way down.
Don't much care for a Champ at that volume for some reason.

thebowl