M-Audio Fast Track Pro v. Toneport UX-2?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by JasonT, Feb 12, 2006.

1. JasonT

JasonT Member

I'm looking to get an interface so I can start recording. I have an iMac and Garageband and I'm looking for a good interface. I am looking at the Fast Track Pro and UX-2 because I want to have the ability to use two microphones. Also, my primary desire is to record my guitar through my amp.

Has anyone used either of these products? Comments? Pros/Cons? Concerns? Alternatives? I'm just getting started with recording so don't assume I understand everything. Thanks in advance for the help.

2. Julian_Lee

Julian_Lee Member

Hmm I'm also looking for similar setup but I have decided to get a PODxt together with a Fast Track Pro to pair up with my Garageband for the time being.

3. 2x6L6

2x6L6 Silver Supporting Member

I am a recording newb, but really dig my UX-2, which I've had since they became available. I haven't used any other interface to compare, but I love the Tone Port enough that I'm perfectly settled on it. I also really like Ableton Live, and immediately upgraded to the full version.

I have had excellent results using the Line 6 amp models that come with the TP - surprisingly super-cool sounding! I also record my own mic'd up amps with equally great results. The quality has been top-notch and for the price point, I don't think much else can compete. Highly recommended!

4. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

When I was looking into this for some friends of mine my rep at Sweetwater said the FastTrack Pro was better audio quality than the Toneport.

I've known the guy a while so I know he's made the comparison for himself, and if I were buying it I'd put my money behind what he said. But that's the extent of my knowledge: someone else's opinion. FWIW.

5. anyone

anyone Member

I'm in the exact situation now, so... bump for some more help! Please.