Mac newb could do with some help.....

ak301

So I got a Mini-mac a few weeks back after this:
https://www.thegearpage.net/board/index.php?threads/mini-mac-query.1679916/#post-21579621

2012 i5 2.3 - 2.9 GHZ i5 16GB RAM 250GB SSD + 500GB El Capitan

I've got Logic Pro now (which is amazing, so easy to use) but I'm having some issues that are putting a holt on really getting creative with this setup.

I'm running into a regular problem with latency and the CPU seemingly overloading when I'm recording, or even putting a few loops together from Logic's library
I keep getting latency issues with plugins where they'll be fine one min and have to be reset the next.
The mac is seemingly running everything off of the SSD.

The 500gb memory has nothing on it, should I be using this to save projects on?
It's been mentioned I could do with a better interface, I'm currently using a Focusrite Saffire 6

I'm a newb to Macs and logic, I'm working my way through David Nahmani's excellent book but has anyone got any suggestions what i can do to improve things, I'm concerned now with my mac being I5 I should've got an I7

MDMachiavelli

I had this same exact problem with the same exact hardware just a few months ago. Several thing were causing the problem and several things fixed the problem.

There is nothing wrong with your Focusrite interface.

First of all, are you writing or reading from an external drive? Sometimes pulling from and writing to a thumb drive, portable hard drive or other device can really significantly slow you down your system causing it to shut down. I'm not at my Mac now but I would pull up the CPU meter on Logic Pro and change around my drives until I found something that worked better, and used less CPU.

Also I had to do some type of "reset", and I can't remember what it is called now. But essentially it reset my Mac without changing any of my downloaded programs. Those two things really improved my performance.

Let me know how this helps.

ak301