Mac versus PC and other recording questions

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by SimpleMind, Feb 23, 2009.

1. SimpleMind

SimpleMind Member

Hei guys,
    i am quite new to recording. I have an older PC 1GB ram. I want to get more serious with recording and am considering to buy a Mac. Like the new Macs were you have the computer build in the screen.
    Now i am considering to stay with my old computer and get Sonar Cakewalk Powerstudio 660 or get me a MAC and go with Lexicon omega.
    Thankful for every information/tip about the topic.
    Andy

2. SimpleMind

SimpleMind Member

Just forgot one tiny thing. Do i need active monitors and if yes whatfor?

3. beej

beej Supporting Member

I'd say it largely depends which you're more comfortable with, Mac or PC. You can get great results with either.

A decent PC running Reaper is probably the less expensive option.

The recording interface is a separate question and really depends on what you need (# channels, USB vs Firewire, how good to you need the preamps to be, etc.) I have an Omega and use it on a PC running (you guessed it) Reaper, it's ok for what it is. There are a zillion other options out there.

You can get away with a good set of headphones for a while. Eventually you'll want monitors so you can acurately hear what you're mixing.

4. Clumsy Fingers

Clumsy Fingers Member

My own experience using PC/Windows is limited to a couple years, and I'm sure you can do great work on a PC. At this point, I've been using a Mac for many years, so naturally I'm biased. I just like the Mac platform better, and the core audio feature assures Mac users they won't have driver issues (which *used* to be somewhat of an issue w/ PCs, but it's been ages since I've kept up with it, so that may have changed).