MacBook Air...Recording?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by DOMINIC, Mar 19, 2008.

1. DOMINIC

DOMINIC Member

I'm a traveling musician. I was wondering if the new MacBook Air would be able to handle me recording on it. I usually run Pro Tools LE for my personal recordings with a Mbox 2. I know the Air has only one USB port and no firewire would this be a problem? Also, it has 2GB Ram and 1.6 ghz and a 80gb hard drive is that enough to record with? Thanks

2. kandrus

kandrus Member

The only problem I really see is that you couldn't have your M-Box and external drive at the same time.

If you were doing any amounts of recording, or even storing files to mix, you would find the 80 gb would run out pretty quick.

Kyle

3. DOMINIC

DOMINIC Member

Isn't there a thing called a "Superdrive" out there that has like 2 usb ports and a optical drive? Would that work? Or would it slow the signal down? thanks

4. DOMINIC

DOMINIC Member

i'm wrong that's just for the optical drive. maybe a usb hub would work?

5. mep

mep Supporting Member

I don't think the MacBook Air is the best choice for recording because it doesn't have a firewire input which is almost essential for Pro Tools. It has only one USB port and only a 80gig hard drive.

I think that you would be happier in the long run with a regular MacBook or a MacBook Pro. They aren't that much bigger or heavier, My MBP is only a little over 5lbs and 1" thick. It is a great laptop and I have it upgraded to 4gig of RAM.

6. killerburst

killerburst killerburstguitars.com Silver Supporting Member

That 80gb hard drive is also 4200RPM- too slow for multi-track audio.

7. g-nem

g-nem Member

That was an unintentionally hilarious article. My favorite quote from it: