Making my own guitar cab.

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by chevyaddict83, Mar 3, 2015.

1. chevyaddict83

chevyaddict83 Member

I tried the search bar without much luck. I would like to make my own guitar cab, but need some on designing it. I am a rhythm guitarist. Just picked up a laney lc15 tube. Love the sound, but would love to expand on it. I just dont know the rules, i.e enclosure size, what materials etc. I have an extensive background in car audio, both loud bass and also sound quality, but it seems like the rules might be different. Any help is appreciated. Shooting for a nice tight sound. Also love the look of the mesa wood cab. Thanks guys!

2. Silent Sound

Silent Sound Member

Most guitar cabinets aren't made with much regard to acoustics. They're usually made to match the colors, power, and dimensions of a specific amplifier. Most guitarists don't care either. Just look at all the threads on this site where someone goes out and buys a Thiele/Small cabinet and then immediately replaces the speakers, making it no longer a Thiele/Small cabinet, but rather just a cabinet with a hole in it. And they almost always claim it improved the sound significantly.

With guitar amps, you usually don't want a straight linear response, because guitarists generally prefer character over sterility. You also don't usually want a ton of bass, because that's what bass amps are for. If you get too much bass coming from a guitar amp, you'll just muddy up the sound for both you and the bass player, and make the whole band sound bad, even though your amp may sound phenomenal on it's own.