Marshall 1974x

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Groovysnoopy113, Oct 2, 2008.

1. Groovysnoopy113

Groovysnoopy113 Member

Hey all I own a 1966 Vibrolux Reverb that I have been using for the last 4 months that has been my number one gigging and recording amp. But lately I have been jonesing for a Marshall 1974x 18 watt. It just breaks up so perfectly, cleans up, and it has tremolo. I was wondering if it would be worth the swap or am I just being short sighted. thanks all

2. katarzis

katarzis Member

hi, if you love the vibrolux, and if you can, get it as a second amp.

3. Groovysnoopy113

Groovysnoopy113 Member

I can't afford the two. Not to mention I love actual tube overdrive

4. dk123123dk

dk123123dk Member

Have you tried the amp with your band live? I have a similar amp (ceriatone 18watt tmb ef86), and it doesn't quite cut it when it comes to my Classic Rock Power trio. But it might work with a light handed drummer. If you plan to just play at home, and record, then I suggest looking into an 18 watter for sure!

dk

5. Groovysnoopy113

Groovysnoopy113 Member

I'm a session guitarist and in every live, studio, gig I haven't once encountered where my amp wasn't going through the PA. Heck a 18 watt head through a 30 watt speaker is plenty loud

6. Teh RedWizard

Teh RedWizard Supporting Member

A used clone,and there are PLENTY of great manufacturers doing them,can easily be found in the $500-700 range right now!

7. Sniper-V

Sniper-V Member

1974x are great little amps and they look killer too!

I was GASing for one bad the past few weeks but since toned down from the recent pickup of a D13 EDT!

You can actually pickup up a preowned one fairly inexpensive when you compare to the price of them new. I'd expect to pay from 1k to 1300.00 tops.

8. dunara

dunara Member