• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Marshall Plexi vs 800 vs High Gain Amps - I dont get it...

cap217

Silver Supporting Member
I have been playing guitar for 30 years. I have a studio and I know all the "tricks" to get a good, big sound. But I am talking about sitting in front of an amp and playing.

I have owned many amps chasing the marshall sound but only to be let down every single time. I owned 800, 900, 2000, jvm, friedmans, bray, mohave, modded marshalls, yjm, zw 2203, and more that I lost track of. What I dont understand is how people get plexis or even 800s to sound so big and mean. The closest I got to getting an 800 to sound like I want is adding the soldano hot mod. Thats close but I hear guys doing it without that. I feel that the internet misleads people on that sound. You think a plexi is the key to all Marshall tones and you buy one and its just a loud PA or ad/dc at best.

The worst was the ZW 2203 that I bought. I thought Id be getting No More Tears sounds out of it and I got Angus. But I hear youtube channels of guys getting great tones out of an 800 or plexi, so how? Am I missing something?

My 900 slx sounds good but not ZW good. My 84' 2203 stock sounds good but nowhere heavy. Add the hot mod and you are closer but at whitesnake at best. Yes the JVM and the 2000s DSL on the red channel gets heavier but thats what I would expect from a stock 800 when listening to youtube clips. And yes, I crank them, attenuate them, iso cab record them and still dont get ZW sounds. I even bought a 4x12 EV cab and it just got cleaner.

This guy for example:

Endr_rpm

Dont forget the ZW tone is also recorded, so theres multiple mics, tape compression/saturation, actual compression, board EQ, post recording effects, multi tracking, mastering.....

Some of it is also touch/technique, but a better comparison would be live audio, vs studio sounds.

jturner