Martin D16R vs D 28

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by hockeyfan, Aug 31, 2006.

1. hockeyfan

hockeyfan Member

hi im considering buying a martin. im torn between a D 28 and a D16R. they both sound the same to me, the only differance that i see is the top bracing and the mortise tenon vs dovetail joint arguement. im not an expert so your info and expertise on this matter is greatly appreaceated, does the fact that the D 16R having a MT joint affect how the tone changes as it gets older. usually a D28 will get better with age but will the D19R do the same.

2. Chops

Chops Gold Supporting Member

I think Martin becomes more selective with wood, such as the spruce tops, as you move up the line. Although I am not sure of the difference between the specific guitars you are looking at. Here is a Forum where a lot of knowledgable people go to talk about Martins:

http://p082.ezboard.com/btheunofficialmartinguitarforum

Good luck either way; I have a couple of Martins (00-18V, D-18GE) that I really enjoy.

3. Aahzz

Aahzz Member

I've heard the D-28 will age better. I do know that my D-28 has opened up quite nicely in the 5 years I've owned it. I don't have a D-16R to compare, though. If resale down the road is a concern at all, I do know the D-28 is going to hold value better. Many people have issues with the micarta fingerboard and bridge on the 16 series. I don't - I'm considering a D-16GT to add some mahogany flavor to my acoustic stable. However, that's at least somewhat financial - if I could afford it, I'd grab a D-18.

4. Aahzz

Aahzz Member

I should add - while I don't have a D-16 series, I do have a DM that I use when my kids are around, as I don't mind them banging on it. Same neck joint, same bracing pattern, same grade top. It does have the laminated back and sides, though, which does make some difference. To get to the point, it does sounds great - but it still sounds mostly like it did when I first got it.

5. smiert spionam