Mastering for dummies

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by 6Tones, Jun 26, 2006.

1. 6Tones

6Tones Supporting Member

My bandmate in the process of mixing our CD (hes using Sonar along with other programs,and we sending out to a company to get it mastered)
    I have a basic ideaof mastering I think ,but what else do they do when they master it besides make the levels of each track uniform,eliminate unneeded hiss ect..?
    I dont expect miracles from this process but can I expect noticable improvement in the quality of the recording?

2. thesedaze

thesedaze Member

often times they'll run the final mix through a 1/2" reel to reel setup, through some tasty preamps, then back to digital. Overall EQ is also applied.

3. therigaletto

therigaletto Member

EQ'ing to the type of music you like is key also. These guys have incredible ears (most of them) and are doing these masterings in highely treated enviroments so its not something you want to attempt yourself. The biggest names in the business get on the gearslutz.com mastering forum all the time. Maybe they can answer some questions for you! good luck!

4. enharmonic

enharmonic Old Growth Gold Supporting Member

I haven't heard a good mastering job in years, so I almost couldn't tell you what it takes to do it well. However, I think Soundgarden's Superunknown is the last record that I truly loved the sound of. I'd really watch the levels on your multi-band compressors, and if anything, focus on subtractive eq.

If the album is recorded and mixed well, the mastering engineer's job shouldn't be very hard at all...and shouldn't require a significant amount of work...but that's a perfect world situation.

*EDIT*