Matchless C-30 Tubes NOS or NO?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Jujo, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Jujo

Jujo Supporting Member

Hey People,

I'm new to the Matchless world, but I read that using NOS tubes in the C-30 makes a tremendous audible difference. Those of you that have experience with NOS tubes in a C-30 please let me know what you think. What tubes did you replace and what NOS tubes did you put in? Tell me about the sonic differences as well.

Thanks!

2. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

I have an old Mullard GZ-34 on my Chieftain. I'm running JJs EL-34s and the preamp tubes are what were in it when I got it used, I don't really know what's in there as it sounds fine. I'll try some of the NOS tubes laying around when I change the preamp tubes (when they go bad), but I'm happy with what I have now.

I believe a JJ GZ-34 was in there before, it's been over a year since I changed it, but I believe the Mullard is a tad more organic and warmer but sags a slight bit.

3. sickboy79

sickboy79 Member

Absolutely they make a difference. My HC-30 was actually outfitted with NOS tubes in every slot when I purchased it used from a fellow TGP'r, so I haven't tube swapped in that amp. But, I can tell you that I have in my other two Matchless amps - a Clubman 35 and Chief heads. The difference is night and day, to me. But, I feel that way with NOS tubes in general in most amps.