Matchless Lightning appreciation thread

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Boogie92801, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

I have been playing this thing for a few months now and I can certainly say she is a keeper. I have tried a few tube changes and a few guitars and I am very happy with the tones I can get both loud and, .. well loud clean and dirty.

2. I have an old Lightning 15 reverb with 2 12 celestions man I just love that amp. I always get comments when I use it. But it is one heavy mother.
    thanks
    tony

3. Mayflower

Mayflower Supporting Member

A 95 2x10 all shower curtain turquoise, including the original tubes. The speakers are Celestion Vintage 10's, modified by Matchless
    It was mint, but I did get some rash on the bottom this year even though I have a cover.
    The tone is smokin'. However..for larger venue it lacks the volume.
    Which has been the case several times this year. Bringing it back through monitors helps a bit. But it seems to get hairy rather fast after a certain point.
    I have 16-20 amps and this one is getting the call for the past year. That is....... until I get my SC30 back from repair. Then....:RoCkIn
    They really have alot of tone and longevity for the buck. Imo

4. davebc

davebc Member

Man, this thread is a long time coming, and well deserved
    I have a 95 Lightning 2-10 in shower curtain blue, as well.
    This baby will definitely peel paint!
    A few thoughts, warm, creamy, screaming, rich harmonic distortion, and tons of it on hand, without taking anyones head off, unless you really want to. The Lightning is the loudest 15 watts I've heard, that's one big ass transformer.
    Sonically, it sounds to me like the perfect blend of an old Marshall and an old Vox. Mine loves my Les Pauls,(especially the middle position) straight in no pedals.