Matchless Phalanx #1 pics

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by shallbe, Sep 26, 2006.

1. shallbe

shallbe Deputy Plankspanker Gold Supporting Member

2. shallbe

This is my first attempt at pics, and I'm no photographer. Anyway, the amp is sitting on a Bob Burt vertical 2x12 cab. I also put my well-worn '58 reissue LP on top, inspired by some recent similar Gearpage guitar/amp poses.

Whatcha think?

3. bluesmain

bluesmain Member

schweeeeeeeeeeeet! Matchless amp bro!:D

Nice top oth that LP too!

4. shallbe

Thanks! I haven't been this excited about a piece of gear in years. That guitar has been played A TON over the last 9 years and still looks kinda new. I always have thought it looked authentic with the shade of sunburst and peek-a-boo flame it has.

5. CNOTE

CNOTE Member

Nice Color match-up. How many watts is the Phalanx?

I'll bet that Bad Boy can sound awesome with the reverb.

Very Nice Amplifier.

6. shallbe

Bob, I will be playing this head at TP Crockmier's in Mobile through the Burt vertical both Friday and Saturday night. I can't wait! We will be at Traders on October 8th. Hope to see you then, my brother!

I do need to get a trip over to P'cola soon and visit with you and Clay, for sure. That would be a blast, with or without gear.

7. shallbe

Thanks! It is 35 watts. What I like about the ef86 and Phil's design is it can break up at the right volume (for me) yet still have ample headroom.

8. shallbe

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Here is a shot of the amp in the dark, and a shot of my tried and true (homemade, obviously) pedalboard I've been using with my Jamison for years. EVERY pedal on the board sounds INCREDIBLE through this amp. The delay has never sounded so good, the vibe and chorus are just luscious.