Matchless SC-30 on the way - what should I expect?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by tch2112, Feb 14, 2008.

1. tch2112

tch2112 Member

Hi,

I have a Matchless SC-30 coming to me in a trade with a fellow gpager. I have never played one and have always wanted to try/have one based on it's reputation and wanting and EL 84 amp. What should I expect once I plug in?

I have had a lot of experience with a Maz-Jr by Dr Z. Can anyone compare it to that EL-84 based amp?

I am starting to get pretty excited to get this baby.

Thanks,

Tom

2. steve10358

steve10358 Supporting Member

Loud and chimey. I love mine. With a great pedal, it'll do everything.

3. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

All I'll say, is if you don't like it, let me know. I'll take it!

4. davebc

davebc Member

I have a DC-30, With single coils,
    Expect the BIGGEST SINGINGINGEST TWANG you've ever heard in your life. This is the

BIG TWANG like you've never heard it!

Expect to hear that unmistakable percussive Bristish bark in spades.So,

Expect to move a LOT of air.(expect to hear things falling off shelves for home use)

Expect to hear that incredible unmistakable Matchless complexity and touch sensitivty.

Expect to hear more focused tone than a Marshall, but with the same balls! And, speaking of balls.

Expect to go searching for one, or both of your testicles, after you try carrying it.

Trust me on this:
    Invest in a nos Mullard rectifyer, a set of nos GE EL84's(Valvos or Mullard are killer,but way more dough), nos Mullard 12ax7's, and ABSOLUTELY a Telefunkin EF86!
    Have fun! These amps are already classics!

5. sickboy79

sickboy79 Member