MBOX help needed

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by cg, Dec 31, 2004.

1. cg

cg Silver Supporting Member

I am fairly new to all of this, so bear with me.

My setup is as follows: POD or Vox Tonelab SE into MBOX via 1/4" cable. Source and Tonelab set to Line Level.

MBOX to PC via USB.

MBOX to Event powered monitor speakers via line output jacks on back.

When I get set to record, I need to crank in the input gain and Tonelab volume to the point where it's not good for late night recording. How do I send enough volume to the MBOX while knocking down the volume to the powered monitor speakers?

2. straticus

straticus Member

Your input (pre amp / gain) and output levels are, or should be, completely separate. I'm not familiar with the Mbox but I assume the monitor out puts are on the Mbox, right? And that the Mbox has an out put level controll. Just turn down the out put. Or, if the monitors are self powered don't they have a level / out put control?

Or is there a software mixer? There's gotta be some very simple way to do this because this pretty basic.

BC :)

3. mike@switchback

mike@switchback Supporting Member

That's one thing that annoys me about the mbox, no hardware volume control on the main output. To overcome the problem, pull down the Master fader in ProTools. Use that as your overall volume control.

4. js54

js54 Member

I just got an MBox and have the same problem....I lowered the Master fader in PT, but that seemed to have no effect on the volume of my guitar input. It seems like the Master Fader will only effect the output of stuff that is already recorded in Pt.

Am I missing something here?

To me the only solution would be to have a mixer inbetween the MBox outs and the powered speakers....

????

5. js54

js54 Member

To add.....

I'm referring to the "input" sound, not the input once it's been routed through PT and back with all the latency...

6. mike@switchback