Measuring Fender neck dimensions

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Shadow Puppets, Apr 21, 2015.

1. Shadow Puppets

Shadow Puppets Member

So I'm going to measure a few of my Fender necks tonight to examine exactly what neck profile/size each guitar allegedly features.

When measuring the neck, I'll be using a vernier, with the strings slackened off so I can measure the wood exactly.

Question is, where exactly should I be taking the measurements from? Just before the 1st fret? Just after the 1st fret? Just before the 12th fret? Just after the 12th fret?

Sounds like a simple question, but I've never done it before.

2. Flash6969

Flash6969 Member

Interested to know this also

3. M40A1

M40A1 Member

I typically measure mine behind the fret (nut side). But to be honest, a fret's width worth of difference probably would be minimal.

4. K-Line

K-Line Gold Supporting Member

Measure just behind first fret, center of fingerboard to center of neck back. Also at 12th. Measure the nut width right at nut. Make sure a nut overhang does not give false reading. Shape is simply by feel.

5. NewLeaf09

NewLeaf09 Supporting Member

One thing I've never understood: why measure the wood when fret height can affect the actual distance between finger tips and the back of the neck? What do you do with a scalloped fretboard? I'm not sensitive to neck thickness as much as I am to shoulder size and contour so this micrometer fetish seems silly to me but I've seen people claim their playing is affected by a mere ten or twenty thou variance, in one case a buyer here rejected a $10k guitar because of a tiny difference, or that was his rationale. How many people grip the neck so tightly the strings contact the wood immediately behind a fret and how do they not strangle the notes out of tune? And what is the thickness of an average low E string? Another Fifty thou? How many angels on the head of this pin?

6. Jerrod

Jerrod Silver Supporting Member