Mesa Boogie Replacemnt Tubes

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by hours, Apr 2, 2015.

1. hours

hours Member

Hello there...I recently purchased a Mesa Rocket 440 of ebay and when it arrived, the tubes were broken.

Just curious if I need to replace them with Mesa tubes or if any tubes will suffice?

We are talking about 4xEL84, 4x12AX7...any suggestions on tubes?

How about advice swapping them out...this is my first time changing tubes.

Thanks a ton!

2. Barnzy

Barnzy Member

I think Mesa have the best replacement tubes on the market because of their testing process. But if your question really is "Do other branded tubes work in a Mesa amp?" ...the answer is absolutely yes. Ask other Mesa owners about the warranty as it relates to their amps and tubes...I've heard it may be an issue.

3. SteveO

SteveO Member

Mesa amps are fixed bias, so although you don't "need" Mesa-branded tubes in them, you do need tubes that are in the correct bias range. Mesas tubes are already in the correct range, so they're plug-and-play. Also, using non-Mesa tubes will void the warranty if your amp is still new enough, but the Rocket amps are old enough that this isn't a concern.

4. DaveKS

DaveKS Member

Any reputable dealer like KCA, Dougs Tubes or Eurotubes can get you a set of el84 of most major brands that fall within range of that amps bias requirements if you just tell them what amp it is.

How did tubes get broken anyway, did seller not secure them properly for shipping? If not that's something I'd be making the seller pay for without a doubt.

5. hours

hours Member

The tubes were left in the amp...the amp was not packaged great and came from KY to CA...I guess that's just what happens when you buy on ebay.

The amp looks like it took a spill somewhere in shipping....very nice slice in the tolex that wasn't there when it was listed on eBay.

Anyway...life goes on.

Hopefully new tubes is all it needs to be back in action!

6. bsause

bsause Member