Mesa rectoverb 25 - home usage

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Keysersoze311, Jun 22, 2016.

1. Keysersoze311

Keysersoze311 Member

Hi guys,

Sorry for the boring and unoriginal first post. I started playing guitar again a couple of years ago, and am a big fan of gain on my amps, even though I am not hugely into metal, and it probably has something to do with the illusion of cleaning up my less than perfect technique! I play stuff like Hendrix, Clapton, Pink Floyd, Rush, Rolling Stones, Bob Marley and need to learn way more stuff, though I'm having some lessons as well.

My current amp is a Blackstar HT5-R, and my guitar is an American Standard Strat, and I love the fact I get (what I feel is) great gain at relatively low volumes. I may get something humbuckery in the future.. Anyways, I was in a guitar shop the other day, and I tried out a second hand Mesa Rectoverb 25 head, through an orange cab I think. I had it on the 10 watt setting, and I was definitely conscious of playing too loudly in the shop, but I couldn't seem to get beautiful screaming wailing gain tones out of the modern gain channel like I expected I might?! I have since seen videos online where this amp seems to produce beautiful, crazy lead sounds, but I'm wondering if it just needs to be really loud, say way louder than my Blackstar?!

I'd be looking at the combo version in any case, but if this might not be the amp for me, does anyone have any suggestions, for a 'better sounding', perhaps even gainy-er, amp, in the same low watt style as my Blackstar? Or am I better off with something else and a really good distortion/pedal set up?! I quite liked the look of the Laney Lionheart 5 watter, and it seemed to sound great. I just sort of had my heart slightly set on the Rectoverb 25, but am not sure it will give me crazy lead tones at home volume...

Many thanks, and I look forward to participating in what seems to be a pretty awesome forum.

Cheers,

Jake

2. BluesMan75

BluesMan75 Member