Message in a Bottle tough stretch

Glass Onion

Toneful truth seeker.
Platinum Supporting Member
Anybody got tricks for pulling it off?

Any other riffs that come to mind with a harder finger stretch?

Glass Onion

Toneful truth seeker.
Andy is awesomly under rated even with how highly he is regarded. All of them really are amazing. Stuart accenting different beats than most would due to his influences. Just an amazing band.

CharAznable

Silver Supporting Member
I was briefly in a Police cover band.

I couldn't play that song without cramping up.

I used to cheat by playing an SG.

dansworld

You could always play the barre chord and just skip a string for the 9th. I've seen Andy Summers play it both ways.

However I love doing the stretch on the three adjacent strings, it's one of my favorite songs to play and it looks cool, too! I've been playing it for many years and don't cramp up at all. I do have moderately long fingers though.

eSS eSS

Instead of stretching from first to pinkie try stretching from the middle outwards. It's a subtle but very noticeable difference in comfort

M

member 124523

Andy is awesomly under rated even with how highly he is regarded. All of them really are amazing. Stuart accenting different beats than most would due to his influences. Just an amazing band.

I used to play this tune in a bar band. I still remember the day when our perfectionist drummer found out Copeland double tracked the drums.

Tim Bowen

You could try replacing the stretch grips.

--------
-----4-
--------
---6---
-4-----
--------

----------
----------
-------8-
----------
---11---
-9-------

As for dealing with the stretches, sitting vs. standing, posture, and length of strap/proximity of instrument all figure in, as does thumb placement on the back of the neck.

Last edited:

Tone_Terrific

Silver Supporting Member
This riff is at the outer edge of my reach, too.