Michael Bloomfield Telecaster Question

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by 59burst, Aug 30, 2005.

1. 59burst

59burst Gold Supporting Member

Does anyone know whether Michael Bloomfield's white blond Tele (with the rosewood fingerboard) was made of alder or ash? Also, what year was it?

I see Fender makes a '63 Tele reissue that is alder, but they switch to ash if you order it in white blond ...

Thanks!

2. jokerjkny

jokerjkny Member

pretty sure its ash.

3. MikeP

MikeP Member

I am not positive but I am betting Alder
    I dont think Leo used rosewood on Alder often in the old days.

4. Mark Kane

Mark Kane Silver Supporting Member

He was using that tele in '64 so that gives you a range of what year could have been.

5. tommyg

tommyg Member

..and Bloomers used the white Tele exclusively on his first Paul Butterfield album.

For East-West he used his gold-top LP.

6. 59burst

I'm far from a Fender expert (barely qualify as a novice! :D ) - does anyone know what wood(s) were being used around '64? Were different woods used for different colors?

I went to www.mikebloomfield.com and was not able to find any firm info in the archived forum (the forum seems to be currently closed but the old postings are there for searching/reading).

7. RickC

RickC Gold Supporting Member

The wood of choice for Strats and Teles in '64 was alder. That doesn't mean they never used ash, just that it was much less common.

/rick

8. hogy

hogy Member

There's a big difference between white and blonde.

Blonde was the standard color for all Teles way into the mid sixties. It is a slightly translucent finish that was always put on ash because it shows the grain of that wood.
    Alder has almost no visible grain.

Bloomfield had a blonde slab board Tele and it was most certainly ash.

Fender did make a few olympic white Teles. Olympic white being opaque, it was used over alder. Those are much rarer.

Keep in mind that Fender didn't pick a certain wood for tone.